Supercharged

Today T. and I renew our commitment to a healthy lifestyle by following the plan laid out in South Beach Supercharged. What I like about Supercharged is that it includes an exercise plan, while the original South Beach did not. It’s been hard to get T. to commit to any exercise besides walking, but because Supercharged includes walking and resistance training he’s ready to give it a try. Go T!!

The exercise plan unfolds in three phases which correlate with the three phases of the diet. The exercise plan is based on interval training and can be done with basically any cardio exercise; we’ll walk. And the days that we don’t do interval training, we do a series of exercises that are designed to build strength in the core.

I’m going to continue doing the Couch to 5k program because the phase 1 exercise program of Supercharged is not too rigorous. However, I’m going to start week 1 again, for a couple of reasons. First, over the weekend I was supposed to do day 3 of week 1, but T. and I were staying at my mom’s to make her house look lived in, but I forgot my jogging shoes, jog bra, visor, etc… (However, I did remember to bring my iPod Shuffle!) so I couldn’t run. Second, because I’m doing the Supercharged program too it seems smart not to push myself too hard–I’m not in a hurry to get injured. So today, for example, I did day 1/week 1 of C25k this morning and will do day 1/phase 1 of Supercharged tonight. Total time for the day won’t even be an hour, so I don’t think I’m being excessive.

Foodwise, it’s clear that we need to do the full two weeks of phase 1 (no grains, no fruit, etc…, only healthy carbs in legumes and veggies plus lowfat meats and dairy) in order to curb our cravings. We’re following the sample menu laid out in the book pretty closely, so yesterday I spent a good chunk of time making food. Luckily we have our fabulous dishwasher to help make the process much more enjoyable!!

Finally, we had a nice time relaxing at Mom and Mike’s. T. had his priorities straight and made sure he packed the big bottle of bubbles.

1 Comment

Filed under General Stuff, Health & Fitness

One response to “Supercharged

  1. Mons

    You go, girl! (And guy!) I hope you reach your goals & get back on the track on which you want to be. 🙂

    It’s good to read your blog & I’m glad you are balancing work with fun! Yay!

Leave a Reply

