Lots of little things…

I finished doing two weeks of doing week 1 of the Couch to 5k plan. Looking forward to starting week 2 tomorrow.

I’m halfway through phase 1 of South Beach and find myself craving sweet potatoes. I’m really psyched that I’m craving a sweet potato and not something bad for me. I’ve had time to do lots of cooking, so I’ve been channeling energy into food prep, which has been fun. And I’m still in love with the new dishwasher which makes the whole endeavor much more enjoyable.

Oatmeal got groomed–her ears are so puffy she looks like Dumbo. Sorry, I don’t have any pix to show because she’s not being very cooperative. Update: While writing the rest of my blog I was able to snap this very candid shot of Oatmeal. Too bad you can’t see her tail because it looks like a fluffy bristle brush.

Actually, it just occurred to me that, proportionally, her ears look a lot like Lenana‘s ears. Yet another thing they have in common. 😉

I’m also doing a lot of chores around the house: cleaning out my closet, going at the bathroom with a toothbrush, attempting to clean the upholstery of my car, plus everyday cleaning. Is it that I’m avoiding working on my dissertation or trying to attend to some things that have been sorely neglected for a long time? A little bit of both. It seems that people (most especially my advisor, thankfully!) expect you to take a bit of an extended break after your exams, so that’s what I’m doing. 🙂

We’re also thinking of getting another dog. How could we subject Oatie to such trauma, you might ask. Well, if we do this, we are determined to find a dog that is not aggressive with her. In other words, we’ll probably get another timid puppy mill dog from a rescue group. We’re in touch with the rescue organization that has three dogs we’re interested in: Blake, Cameron and possibly Boomer. As you can tell by the photos, we’re looking for a dog that’s smaller than Oatmeal and that has a sweet disposition. When Oatie was rescued she was one of a pair, in fact we were originally interested in her companion. So, we think under the right circumstances–if we find the right dog and let them warm up to one another–that this might actually be a good thing for her. And yes, if you’re wondering, one of the reasons to get another dog is to have another little being around for me to focus attention on while we’re trying to have a baby. I’m about to be off for the whole summer (well, at least I’ll be working from home and won’t have to commute) so it seems like a good time to get a new dog acclimated to our environment. I’d love to hear your comments about this idea…

3 Comments

Filed under General Stuff, Health & Fitness, Oatmeal & Roscoe

3 responses to “Lots of little things…

  1. crazyoatie

    Update: Blake’s been adopted. Maybe we’ll go look at Cameron next weekend.

  2. lipstickprophet

    Aw- Oatie looks so cute!!

    p.s. Boomer is my fave of the 3

  3. mdraeger

    I think another dog will be really good for Miss Oatmeal, especially if she had a companion in her former life. All three of them are so adorable, I don’t know how you’re going to choose, though!

Leave a Reply

