Wait, Wait…

Last night Tom and I were lucky enough to attend a taping of Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me! For those of you who don’t already know, this is my very favorite radio program and I have always wanted to attend the live show. This, however, was not a taping of the radio show but, instead, was a pilot for their new show that’s supposed to appear on CBS.

The taping was at The Wilshire Theatre and our tickets told us to arrive at 7:15 for the 7:30 taping. We planned to meet my friend Ana Paula at 7:15 and when we got there the line went along Wilshire and down LaCienega. Luckily Ana Paula got there a little bit before us so we didn’t have to go to the very end of the line.  They finally let us in and we got good seats. Sadly, I didn’t bring my camera and I forgot my phone so you won’t get to see any pictures of us being NPR geeks.

The set was super-cheesy–I guess since it’s a pilot they don’t spend much money, and you could tell. Anyway, if you know the show, you know they have a weekly panel of commentators/comedians. Two of the panelists were regulars, Mo Rocca and Tom Bodett, but the third was Tracey Ullman!! And, of course, it was so fun seeing Carl Kassel and Peter Sagal in person.  And the celebrity they had on for the “Not My Job” segment was Aisha Tyler who I had never heard of before, but I have to say, I appreciate that she was both funny and smart.  Unfortunately, I don’t think the show will translate as well to television, but thankfully they’re still going to do the radio show. Which I still want see a live taping of.  All and all, though, it was a fun night and I’m glad we got the opportunity to attend. Thanks for the free tickets, KPCC!

2 Comments

Filed under General Stuff

2 responses to “Wait, Wait…

  1. Meg

    You should have heard me squeal when I read what show you went to see.

    Then, you probably heard me all the way from NJ when I read that it’s going to be a TV show!

    And now I’m jealous because you got to see Mo Rocca.

  2. How cool! I’m glad you got to do this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

