Pre-eclampsia Scare

On Wednesday, after I received news that my glucose tolerance test (for gestational diabetes) was normal, I said to my mom, “well, at least we don’t have to worry about my health on top of everything else that’s going on.”

Ha!

Friday I went to my regular ob/gyn to get another ultrasound of the babies and to talk about the plan for getting care throughout the rest of the pregnancy. First, they took my blood pressure, and it was really high. They said they’d take it again after the ultrasound, but it was still very high. So they had me go lay down in one of the examining rooms and after a bit they took it again. Lower, but still high for me. My high blood pressure plus my swelling ankles and a couple of other symptoms led my doctor to believe I had developed pre-eclampsia. He ordered me to get some blood work and then to come in to the hospital in the morning to check my blood pressure once again. “Plan to be admitted so pack a bag.”  Great. I couldn’t believe that I actually had to worry about my own health and safety on top of worrying about the health of the babies.

By the time we left the office I was feeling pretty inconsolable.  I was ready to give up on this pregnancy as it’s been just one trial after another.  I calmed down after a while, but then got really upset again after doing a little more research on pre-eclampsia. It occurred to me that this could be my last night at home alone with Tom; that I might go into the hospital and probably not come out until after delivery. I was scared and really could not stop crying, but was able to get a good night’s sleep.

This morning Tom and I went to the hospital at 8am, packed bag in the trunk. They admitted me to the labor and delivery triage unit where they took my blood pressure and monitored the babies’ heartbeats. Thankfully, my blood pressure was down! It was still a little high for me, but nowhere near pre-eclampsia territory.  I had more blood work done and both the tests from yesterday and today came back normal. Unbelievable. I was free to go and was home by 11:30.

As you can imagine, I felt very relieved when we left the hospital. I told Tom that this scare made me realize that as long as I have my own health, I can handle whatever is going to happen with these girls. We still aren’t sure what’s going on with baby A. The ultrasound tech on Friday told the doctor that she thinks the umbilical cord is wrapped around her neck three times. Of course, this is terrible news, but there is nothing they can do about it. Whatever happens to baby A is out of our hands at this point and all we can do is wait. I go back to the doctor on Thursday so I hope to have more to report then.

So please keep sending us your good vibes, thoughts, love, support and prayers and hopefully this pregnancy will turn out to be a dim memory that we can all forget about once the babies are born.

4 Comments

Filed under Babies

4 responses to “Pre-eclampsia Scare

  1. Meg

    As I remember it, whatever happens during pregnancy becomes such an afterthought compared to what you experience in the first few weeks of new parenthood that later the preggie issues almost seem laughable. Almost.
    I’m SO sorry all this junk is happening to you. It’s one thing after another with babies, isn’t it?
    Hang in there! Babies are worth it!

  2. As I’ve mentioned to you before, my pregnancy was horrid; the stuff of nightmares. I ended up with pre-eclampsia at my very last prenatal visit and it was awful. But, you will get through this and you will be stronger because of it. You will continue to amaze yourself and your husband with your endurance and strength of character. Remind yourself that this is only temporary. You are in my thoughts and I’m sending you tons of positive energy.

  3. Kathyrn Kemp Chociej

    Heidi,
    I too had pre-eclampsia and I was actually put on bed rest the last three weeks of my pregnancy. My blood pressure was very high (for me) and I was gaining a lot of water weight and swelling.
    Take good care of yourself and let your husband and friends wait on you, even if it’s uncomfortable for you to ask for help.
    You and your babies are so loved.

  4. Donna

    I talked to your Mom on Saturday and she told me that you were better-positive good news among your oh-so-difficult week. We are praying for you; God is good.
    Blessings, Donna

Leave a Reply

