Our miracle babies

Let me officially announce the birth of our girls Kenley Rachel (previously known as Baby A) and Kamryn Reese (Baby B), born on Friday, June 26th, 2009, at about 11:10am.

By now, everyone reading this blog is familiar with the miserable pregnancy I have had. It turns out there is one reason that connects everything together. While lying on the operating table, very anxiously awaiting the birth of the babies, I did not expect to hear the doctor say “I’ve never seen anything like this.” But before I could get worried, they pulled the babies out and I heard their sweet little cries. I was relieved that they were okay and then I turned my attention back to me. I didn’t understand why the doctors were poking around so much…then I got morphine…and thankfully I don’t remember anything until I woke up after the operation. (Anyone who wants the more gruesome and detailed side of this story must to talk to Tom who witnessed it all first hand.)

What did the doctors see?

My uterus had a fibroid attached to it and to my abdominal wall. As my uterus grew throughout the pregnancy the fibroid caused it to twist. By the time I delivered my uterus was turned around 180 degrees. This was probably what caused the growth restriction in both girls, it caused the problem with the first amnio and it may have contributed to the pre-eclampsia since my bladder was caught up in the twisting, as well. So, even if we had kept the girls in longer, we’re not sure they would have thrived.

And the girls have been amazing me ever since they were born. Kenley is breathing on her own and as she gets bigger she will learn to regulate her temperature and eat on her own. I am able to do Cuddle Care with her 30 minutes a day, which means I actually get to hold her, so you know that’s the highlight of my day! Kamryn, though bigger, needs a bit of help breathing. She’s mostly doing it on her own, but sometimes she forgets to do it when she’s in a deep sleep. But already she’s improving and we know she’ll be off the machine as soon as she’s ready. And Cuddle Care with her will start when she’s off that machine so I’m anticipating that day.

These little girls are strong and I’m certain they’ll be fine. They’ll be getting amazing care in the NICU for the next 4-8 weeks and then we’ll get to bring home our sweet little babies. They’re tiny but mighty…

Meanwhile, my recovery is going as well as can be expected. Too slowly for me, but I’m not always known for my patience. Besides the c-section, I had fibroids removed, so the surgery is a little more intense to recover from. My ankles and knees are ridiculously swollen and the cure for that is time, rest and water. However, all I want to do is visit the babies so I’m already torn with what to do. Today I’m taking it easier as the past two days I’ve been back and forth to NICU many many many times. The pain is manageable and I’m hoping that I’ll be back to myself in the next 2-4 weeks.

We’ve been taking tons of pictures and some video, but it’ll be a while until we can sort through everything. Meanwhile, here’s a sneak peak of me and Tom holding Kenley.
DSC05372

6 Comments

Filed under Babies

6 responses to “Our miracle babies

  1. Lesley

    What a story. I’m so glad you’re ALL OK. That is just an adorable picture you posted and those little girls are indeed mighty, as is their mom (and dad, to go through it with you!!). All of you, take good care.
    xoxo, Les

  2. I am crying tears of joy! Congratulations!!! Those Twinkies are fighters and so are you. What a beautiful family!

  3. I know you have far more pressing things, but when you get a chance come and read what I wrote about you.

  4. Kathyrn Kemp Chociej

    So thrilled for you. Such wonderful news.

  5. Ana Paula

    so happy to know everything turned out fine and the girls are doing well and will be going home soon enough. can’t wait to meet them.

  6. Pingback: Inspiration all around me « (parenthetical statement)

Leave a Reply

