Moving and Gaining

Walked into the NICU tonight and was delighted to find that Kamryn’s incubator had been moved next to Kenley’s. It may not seem like a big deal, but it’s wonderful not to have to feel pulled from one baby to the other. I can be in one place to see and talk to both of them. I can touch one, but look over and see what the other is doing. As usual, it’s the little things that make a huge difference.

Speaking of which, Kenley gained 2 ounces and is now weighing in at 1 lb, 11 oz. Everyone continues to be amazed at how well she’s doing on her own. Kamryn is still learning how to digest her food, a very common problem with preemies. The nurse assured me tonight that this is normal and didn’t seem worried at all. It helps me to learn what is normal for preemies, and I’m just learning as we go along. Kamryn will get a PICC line (a more stable IV through which she can get more nutrients) today and Kenley will probably get one in the next day or two. Although both are getting breast milk, their stomachs are so tiny that they need additional nutrients to help them gain weight.

In other news, people keep asking me about pictures. We’ve taken tons of them, but we are reluctant to post pictures of them because they each have so many wires coming off of them, or their eyes are covered, or, in Kamryn’s case, she’s got oxygen tubes in her nose. When we’re with them it’s easy to look past all that stuff, but in pictures it’s hard to see past it all.

As for me, I’m still recovering from my surgery. The abdominal pain is manageable but I’m still hobbling around on my very swollen feet and ankles. I try to keep off them as much as possible, but it’s going to take some time for them to get back to normal. I’m also catching up on sleep that I didn’t get in the hospital… My new life is all about resting, pumping, and being with the girls in the NICU.

1 Comment

Filed under Babies

One response to “Moving and Gaining

  1. Kathyrn Kemp Chociej

    Heidi,
    I am so happy to hear your girls are next to each other and are doing well.
    Get your rest, dear one.
    xoxo,
    ~k

Leave a Reply

