Every time

Every time I go out with the girls I am reminded of how lucky and blessed I am.  The double stroller attracts attention to be sure, but even when I’m with just one of them people seem eager to tell me their stories.  I’ve met a woman whose 23-weeker didn’t survive, another whose 4 year old boy had the same birth weight as Kenley’s, but clearly had a lot of physical and mental challenges, and today a woman told me that she’d been pregnant with twins twice and each time only one of the twins survived.

Today they are 14 weeks old and I’m still amazed that my nightmare pregnancy turned out two beautiful and healthy girls.  Yes, taking care of twins is a difficult: it’s exhausting and I make mistakes all the time. But I am truly grateful for these two healthy, vibrant and thriving girls.

4 Comments

Filed under Babies

4 responses to “Every time

  1. Ana Paula

    I’m so so happy for you Heidi!!! so glad to hear about the girls and can’t wait to meet them.
    hugs
    AP

  2. It really is amazing how “well” things turned out for you and the girls. You are not making mistakes, you are just learning.

  3. Lesley

    You’re learning and growing with your girls. I’m just glad it all turned out OK. Just love them. That’s all they’ll really ever need. Everything will come from that. Remind me that I said that when Kaitlyn is on Oprah’s couch one day complaining about how I messed her up somehow! Big hugs!

  4. Kathyrn Kemp Chociej

    Dear Heidi,
    What a sweet post. Yes, you are lucky and blessed, but so are they.
    I am so happy for you and know how both exhausting and rewarding these first few months are.
    Your beautiful daughters are thriving in your tender care.
    Keep sharing. I cherish being able to share these joys of motherhood with you.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

